Quantcast



Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

June 28, 2012

Book Notes - Ralph Pezzullo "Hunt the Wolf"

In the Book Notes series, authors create and discuss a music playlist that relates in some way to their recently published book.

Previous contributors include Bret Easton Ellis, Kate Christensen, Kevin Brockmeier, George Pelecanos, Dana Spiotta, Amy Bloom, David Peace, Myla Goldberg, Heidi Julavits, Hari Kunzru, and many others.

Ralph Pezzullo's Hunt the Wolf is an action-packed thriller based on the real-life experiences of a Navy SEAL team.

Bookreporter wrote of the book:

"Hunt the Wolf is an adrenaline-packed novel sure to appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, featuring the world's most elite soldiers and based on the experiences of renowned SEAL Team 6 commando Don Mann."

Stream a Spotify playlist of these tunes. If you don't have Spotify yet, sign up for the free service.


In his own words, here is Ralph Pezzullo's Book Notes music playlist for his novel, Hunt the Wolf:


Tom Crocker – the protagonist of the thrillers Hunt the Wolf and Hunt the Scorpion – grew up as a wild, hell-raising, motorcycle-racing teenager in northern Massachusetts, joined the Navy at nineteen, and transformed himself into a world-class ultra long-distance athlete and one of the most lethal warriors in the U.S. military. He's currently an assault leader with SEAL Team 6.


Tom Crocker's playlist:

"My Way" – two versions, Frank Sinatra and Sid Vicious

My theme song. The version I listen to depends on the mood I'm in.


"Born to Be Wild" – Steppenwolf

This song was written about someone like me. I've been propelled by wild, unboundless energy since the day I was born.


"God Bless America" – Kate Smith

I love my country and will defend it to my death.


"Highway to Hell" – AC/DC

One of the greatest workout songs ever written! I've been listening to it since I was a teenager lifting weights in my Dad's garage.


"Stairway to Heaven" – Led Zeppelin

Incredible song. We're all still climbing.


"Paranoid" – Black Sabbath

Kicks ass backwards and forward. Another of my favorite workout songs.


"High Hopes" – Pink Floyd

Great melody and one of the best lyrics ever. "Leaving the myriad small creatures trying to tie us to the ground, to a life consumed by slow decay."


"Enter Sandman" – Metallica

A masterpiece. "Sleep with one eye open, gripping your pillow tight."


Kind of Blue – Miles Davis

A SEAL from Puerto Rico turned me on to jazz. This album is nothing short of hypnotic.


"My One and Only One" – Sonny Rollins

All I can say is "Wow!" If you haven't heard this, check out the live version on YouTube.


"Gimme Shelter" – the Rolling Stones

Dark, growling guitars. Foreboding everywhere. Reminds me of what going into combat feels like.


"Sympathy for the Devil" – the Rolling Stones

"Please allow me to introduce myself…." Mick channeling the devil, and getting it right.


"House of the Rising Son" – the Animals

Wish I could sing this classic myself. "Mother tell your children not to do what I have done…."


"Sky Pilot" – the Animals

Greatest war song ever written, in my opinion.


"Take Five" – Dave Brubeck

I've recently gotten into late ‘50s-‘60s jazz – the cool period. You want to get mellow without booze or narcotics? Listen to this.


"Wild Thing" – Jimi Hendrix

I've dated many and married several.


"Sweet Child o' Mine" – Gun n' Roses

One of the greatest rock songs ever! Axel and Slash at their best.


"Stone Crazy" – Buddy Guy

Raw and wild, just the way I like it.


"Crossfire" – Stevie Ray Vaughn

The great Stevie Ray burning it up on guitar. If this doesn't get you up on your feet howling at the moon, I don't know what will.


Ralph Pezzullo and Hunt the Wolf links:

the author's website

Bookreporter review
Kirkus Reviews review
Publishers Weekly review

Mulholland Books interview with the author


also at Largehearted Boy:

Book Notes (2012 - ) (authors create music playlists for their book)
Book Notes (2005 - 2011) (authors create music playlists for their book)
my 11 favorite Book Notes playlist essays

100 Online Sources for Free and Legal Music Downloads
52 Books, 52 Weeks (weekly book reviews)
Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Atomic Books Comics Preview (weekly comics highlights)
Daily Downloads (free and legal daily mp3 downloads)
guest book reviews
Largehearted Word (weekly new book highlights)
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)
Shorties (daily music, literature, and pop culture links)
Soundtracked (composers and directors discuss their film's soundtracks)
Try It Before You Buy It (mp3s and full album streams from the week's CD releases)
weekly music & DVD release lists


Posted by david | permalink






blog comments powered by Disqus




Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com