Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

December 5, 2013

Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Books of the Week - December 5, 2013

Librairie Drawn & Quarterly


In the weekly Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Books of the Week, the Montreal bookstore recommends several new works of fiction, art books, and comics.

Librairie Drawn & Quarterly is one of Montreal's premiere independent bookstores.

Every week, Montreal's Librairie Drawn & Quarterly bookstore recommends a selection of new books, including fiction, art books, magazines, and comics.


Morrissey Autobiography

Morrissey Autobiography
by Morrissey

There are more than a few Morrissey/Smiths fans amongst us here at Librairie D+Q, and we have been waiting with great impatience for Morrissey’s autobiography to arrive. Finally it is here and we can scarcely contain our enthusiasm! The charming man himself, in his own words! A must read for any fan of the Moz.


Professor Astro Cat’s Frontiers of Space

Professor Astro Cat’s Frontiers of Space
by Dr. Dominc Walliman and Ben Newman

Cats and space – two of our favourite things – together at last in this beautiful (and educational) kids book! Learn about the wonders of the universe from a cat who truly knows his stuff. (Hint: the author holds a PhD in quantum device physics!) In addition to the fascinating facts about space, the visual design of the book is top notch. Delightful in every way!


Maria M. Book One

Maria M. Book One
by Gilbert Hernandez

Fans of Love and Rockets will recognize the story of Maria M. as this new graphic novel tells the story of Luba’s mother Maria (first told in Poison River) but this version is intended to be the B-movie adaptation. Whoa, so meta! The illustrations are appropriately cinematic to match the pulp-movie theme. Book Two is forthcoming next year.


Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division

Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division
by Peter Hook

Peter Hook, best known as the bass player Joy Division and New Order, wrote a book about his experience playing in Joy Division. Joy Division disbanded right on the cusp of commercial success (due singer Ian Curtis’s untimely death) but even so, their influence was – and continues to be - massive. Hook’s insider account of his time in Joy Division gives fans a unique glimpse into one of the 20th century’s most innovative and influential bands. (Now in paperback.)


La Tendresse des Pierres

La Tendresse des Pierres
by Marion Fayolle

The latest graphic novel from French author/illustrator Marion Fayolle, is a profoundly touching account of a young woman’s difficult relationship with her father, whom she likens to a stone: not a soft, smooth stone, but a hard, jagged one! Fayolle’s gorgeous illustrations (which are visually similar to those of her previous work, In Pieces) lend the story an additional richness. Available in French only, for the time being.


Librairie Drawn & Quarterly links:

other Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Books of the Week

Librairie Drawn & Quarterly's blog
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Facebook page
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Tumblr
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly on Twitter


also at Largehearted Boy:

Online "Best of 2013" Book Lists

other Atomic Books Comics Preview lists (weekly new comics & graphic novel highlights)
Atomic Books Comics Preview (weekly new comics and graphic novel highlights)
52 Books, 52 Weeks
Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Largehearted Word (weekly new book highlights)
Book Notes (authors create music playlists for their book)
guest book reviews
Largehearted Word (weekly new book highlights)
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)


permalink






Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com