Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

June 18, 2014

WORD Bookstores Books of the Week - June 18, 2014

In the Largehearted Word series, the staff of Brooklyn's WORD bookstore highlights several new books released this week.

WORD Bookstores are independent neighborhood bookstores in Greenpoint, Brooklyn and Jersey City, New Jersey. Our primary goal is to be whatever our communities needs us to be, which currently means carrying everything from fiction to nonfiction to absurdly cute cards and stationery. In addition, we're fiends for a good event, from the classic author reading and Q&A to potlucks and a basketball league (and anything set in a bar). If a weekly dose of WORD here isn't enough for you, follow us on Twitter: @wordbookstores.


Echo's Bones

Echo's Bones
by Samuel Beckett

This story of a resurrection is itself a resurrection. Deemed too extreme -- rather, too Beckett for Beckett -- and excluded by the publishers from his first collection, Echo's Bones is a great work of salvaged enigmatic fiction.


The Albertine Workout

The Albertine Workout
by Anne Carson

The drowsy gaze of Marcel Proust on the cover greets readers of this essay in verse about the literary cipher of Albertine, one of the central and most incandescent characters in Remembrance of Things Past.


Longbourn

Longbourn
by Jo Baker

In the vein of Ahab's Wife and Desdemona, Jo Baker's novel gives life to ancillary characters -- servants and other house staff -- from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice.


Gone Feral

Gone Feral
by Novella Carpenter

A bracing, intense memoir about the illusions we create in the absence of significant people -- a father, in this case -- and how the fantasies that sustain us can sometimes hold us back.


WORD Brooklyn links:

WORD website
WORD Tumblr
WORD on Twitter
WORD's Facebook page
WORD's Flickr photos


also at Largehearted Boy:

other Word Bookstores Books of the Week (weekly new book highlights)

Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Atomic Books Comics Preview (weekly comics & graphic novel highlights)
Book Notes (authors create music playlists for their book)
guest book reviews
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Books of the Week (recommended new books, magazines, and comics)
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)
Short Cuts (writers pair a song with their short story or essay)


submit to reddit

permalink






Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com