Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

September 12, 2015

Atomic Books Comics Preview - September 12, 2015

In the weekly Atomic Books Comics Preview, Benn Ray highlights notable new comics and graphic novels.

Benn Ray is the owner of Atomic Books, an independent bookstore in Baltimore. The Mobtown Shank is his blog, and his comic Said What? is syndicated weekly in the Baltimore Sun's B-Paper.

Atomic Books has been named one of BuzzFeed's Great American Bookstores, as well as one of Flavorwire's 10 greatest comic and graphic novel stores in America.


Chicago

Chicago
by Glenn Head

For fans of Jim Carroll's Basketball Diaries or Martin Scorsese' Mean Streets. Glenn finds himself navigating the tough streets of Chicago on a journey of lunacy and self-discovery.


Dharma Punks

Dharma Punks
by Ant Sang

From New Zealand comes this graphic novel set in the 1990s where a group of anarcho-punks plan to blow up a multi-national fast food restaurant on opening day. Ah, the good old days.


Head Lopper #1

Head Lopper #1
by Andrew MacLean

It's like a viking Conan the Barbarian meets Bring Me The Head of Alfredo Garcia, as a warrior and the head of a witch share brutal and action-packed adventures. Yes, heads will be lopped.


Sacred Heart

Sacred Heart
by Liz Suburbia

It's an unsupervised, never-ending teen punk summer vacation with a makeshift society and mysterious deaths in this graphic novel debut from the immensely talented Liz Suburbia.


Questions, concerns, comments or gripes – e-mail benn@atomicbooks.com. If there’s a comic I should know about, send it my way at Atomic, c/o Atomic Books 3620 Falls Rd., Baltimore, MD 21211.


Atomic Books & Benn Ray links:

Atomic Books website
Atomic Books on Twitter
Atomic Books on Facebook
Benn Ray's blog (The Mobtown Shank)
Benn Ray's comic, Mutant Funnies


also at Largehearted Boy:

other Atomic Books Comics Preview lists (weekly new comics & graphic novel highlights)

Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Book Notes (authors create music playlists for their book)
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Books of the Week (recommended new books, magazines, and comics)
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)
Short Cuts (writers pair a song with their short story or essay)
WORD Bookstores Books of the Week (weekly new book highlights)


submit to reddit

permalink






Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com