Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

February 19, 2016

Atomic Books Comics Preview - February 19, 2016

In the weekly Atomic Books Comics Preview, Benn Ray highlights notable new comics, graphic novels, and books.

Benn Ray is the owner of Atomic Books, an independent bookstore in Baltimore. He also runs the Mutant Funnies Tumblr.

Atomic Books has been named one of BuzzFeed's Great American Bookstores, as well as one of Flavorwire's 10 greatest comic and graphic novel stores in America.


American Bystander #1

The American Bystander #1
by Michael A Gerber / Brian McConnachie / Alan Goldberg
l

In the tradition of National Lampoon, Spy and MAD Magazine comes The American Bystander, America's newest humor publication. This issue features work from Terry Jones, Roz Chast, Julia Wertz, Jack Handy, Mimi Pond and many more. American Bystander is one of those periodicals you'll want to read cover to cover. In fact, I've been carrying a copy with me since we got them in, just to keep showing things to people. It's an annoying habit I have when I get super into something. I 'm aware of it.


Bonnie N. Collide Nine to Five Volume 1

Bonnie N. Collide Nine to Five Volume 1
by Monica Gallagher

Bonnie N. Collide is a rollergirl with a dayjob, which leads to awkward and funny occurrences. This book collects the popular webcomic.


Jonny Negron Selected Works 2012-2013

Jonny Negron Selected Works 2012-2013
by Jonny Negron

If you've not yet experienced the glory of Jonny Negron's art, this monograph beckons you. Loaded with curves, taboos, and humor.


Revenger Volume 1

Revenger Volume 1
by Charles Forsman

Forsman's excellent action comic, Revenger, is now collected into a handy book form. In Revenger, justice is sure and brutal and awesome.


Mineshaft #32

Mineshaft #32
by Everett Rand / Gioia Palmieri (editors)

The newest issue of the excellent comics magazine features work by Robert Crumb, Mary Fleener, Noah Van Sciver, Bill Griffith, Fly, Frank Stack, Pat Moriarity, Fiona Smyth, Jay Lyncy and so many more. Mineshaft has established itself as the gold standard of underground comics publications.


Questions, concerns, comments or gripes – e-mail benn@atomicbooks.com. If there’s a comic I should know about, send it my way at Atomic, c/o Atomic Books 3620 Falls Rd., Baltimore, MD 21211.


Atomic Books & Benn Ray links:

Atomic Books website
Atomic Books on Twitter
Atomic Books on Facebook
Benn Ray's blog (The Mobtown Shank)
Benn Ray's comic, Mutant Funnies


also at Largehearted Boy:

other Atomic Books Comics Preview lists (weekly new comics & graphic novel highlights)

Online "Best of 2015" Book Lists

Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Book Notes (authors create music playlists for their book)
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly Books of the Week (recommended new books, magazines, and comics)
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)
Short Cuts (writers pair a song with their short story or essay)
WORD Bookstores Books of the Week (weekly new book highlights)


permalink






Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com