Quantcast



Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

February 13, 2013

Atomic Books Comics Preview - February 13, 2013

In the weekly Atomic Books Comics Preview, Benn Ray highlights notable new comics and graphic novels.

Benn Ray is the owner of Atomic Books, an independent bookstore in Baltimore. The Mobtown Shank is his blog, and his comic Said What? is syndicated weekly in the Baltimore Sun's B-Paper.

Atomic Books has been named one of Bizarre Magazine's 51 geekiest places on the planet, as well as one of Flavorwire's 10 greatest comic and graphic novel stores in America.


86'd #1

86'd #1
by various

86'd is a new horror comic anthology in the vein of Creepy, Eerie, etc. but with a cool underground comics vibe.


Genius, Illustrated: The Life And Art Of Alex Toth Volume 2

Genius, Illustrated: The Life And Art Of Alex Toth Volume 2
by Alex Toth / Dean Mullaney / Bruce Canwell

This is the second art book/bio hybrid volume about master comics artist Alex Toth. Vol. 2 covers the second half of Toth's career - from the 1960s - his death in 2006. Samples of his Hanna-Barbera animation as well as art from his work with DC and Warren comics.


Hiroaki Samura's Emerald and Other Stories

Hiroaki Samura's Emerald and Other Stories
by Hiroaki Samura

This collection of stories from Samura, originally appearing in different Japanese magazines is quality manga.


s! #12

s! #12
by Annie Koyama (guest editor)

This Latvian comics anthology (that's right, I said "Latvian") brings together excellent comics from all over the world - and publishes the comics in both English and Latvian. Comics publishing juggernaut Koyama was tapped to edit this volume, with work by Chuck Forsman, Dustin Harbin, Jesse Jacobs, Michael DeForge, Patrick Kyle, Ryan Cecil Smith and many more. The full-color softcover comes in an irresistible digest/pocket format.


Susceptible

Susceptible
by Genevieve Castree

Castree's style has an appealing sort of indy/alternative manga vibe. Susceptible is both haunting and mesmerizing.


Questions, concerns, comments or gripes – e-mail benn@atomicbooks.com. If there’s a comic I should know about, send it my way at Atomic, c/o Atomic Books 3620 Falls Rd., Baltimore, MD 21211.


Atomic Books & Benn Ray links:

Atomic Books website
Atomic Books on Twitter
Atomic Books on Facebook
Benn Ray's blog (The Mobtown Shank)
Benn Ray's comic, Said What?


also at Largehearted Boy:

other Atomic Books Comics Preview lists (weekly new comics & graphic novel highlights)

the list of online "best books of 2012" lists

52 Books, 52 Weeks
Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Book Notes (authors create music playlists for their book)
guest book reviews
Largehearted Word (weekly new book highlights)
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)


Posted by david | permalink






blog comments powered by Disqus




Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com