Quantcast



Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

February 27, 2013

Largehearted WORD Books of the Week - February 27, 2013

In the Largehearted Word series, the staff of Brooklyn's WORD bookstore highlights several new books released this week.

WORD is an independent neighborhood bookstore in Greenpoint, the northernmost neighborhood of Brooklyn, that recently celebrated its fifth anniversary. Our primary goal is to be whatever our community needs us to be, which currently means carrying a lot of paperback fiction (especially classics), cookbooks, board books, and absurdly cute cards and stationery. In addition, we're fiends for a good event, from the classic author reading and Q&A to potlucks and a basketball league (and anything set in a bar). We're a small operation, just 1000 square feet and four people, but we read too much, so it all works out. If a weekly dose of WORD here isn't enough for you, follow us on Twitter: @wordbrooklyn.

WORD also hosts the monthly Largehearted Lit reading series, featuring authors who participated in this blog's Book Notes series and musical guests.


When Women Were Birds

When Women Were Birds
by Terry Tempest Williams

Jenn says: "Williams is an incredible writer, and her fascination with nature melds with her contemplations on family and the creative voice to produce a gorgeous tear-jerker of a memoir. This one is for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Annie Dillard."


Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park
by Rainbow Rowell

Molly can't wait to read Rainbow Rowell's tale of first love among misfits, which takes place in the '80s, references the Sex Pistols on the first page, and is piling up starred reviews.


Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland's History-Making Race Around the World

Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland's History-Making Race Around the World
by Matthew Goodman

Emily says: "Goodman showers us with lavish details -- of the 1880s New York where both women launched their careers, of the ships and trains that carried them away and then home, of Nellie Bly's encounter with Jules Verne himself in France, and of the rapidly changing world of journalism."


The Believer, Issue 97 (10 Year Anniversary issue)

The Believer, Issue 97 (10 Year Anniversary issue)

What were you doing a decade ago? WORD wasn't yet in Greenpoint, many of its booksellers were in college and/or living in other cities, and The Believer, purveyor of fine long-form journalism, was just forming its first words. Look how far we've all come!


WORD Brooklyn links:

WORD website
WORD Tumblr
WORD on Twitter
WORD's Facebook page
WORD's Flickr photos


also at Largehearted Boy:

other Largehearted Word Books of the Week (weekly new book highlights)

Online "Best Books of 2012" Lists

52 Books, 52 Weeks (my yearly reading project)
Antiheroines (interviews with up and coming female comics artists)
Atomic Books Comics Preview (weekly comics & graphic novel highlights)
Book Notes (authors create music playlists for their book)
guest book reviews
musician/author interviews
Note Books (musicians discuss literature)


Posted by david | permalink






blog comments powered by Disqus




Google
  Web largeheartedboy.com